You Can’t Handle The Truth !

The hardest thing that I have come to find over the last 28 years that I have been in the Real Estate business is telling people the truth.

Not that I have a hard time speaking the truth it is just hard to get people to realize that you are speaking the truth and not employing a sales technique on them. Let me explain.

This happens all the time. I get an email from a perspective buyer the other day looking to purchase their first home in a close in to downtown Portland Oregon a few days ago. I call them to perform a diagnostic about their needs and desires vs their abilities to purchase. Yes they have been to a lender to get pre-qualified and they are optimistic and motivated to buy. All good signs however their area of choice is in the hottest neighborhood in Portland with very few listings and even quicker closing times. Our MLS reports 27 days average. Which means realistically homes are being sold in the first few days. Now I have all my buyers set up to receive new listings from my web site at http://www.hportlandrealproperty.com my web site covers all of the MLS listings and is updated every hour so you are getting the freshest an up to date information. And for proactive buyers such as this couple I have them set up to recieve listings ASAP so that they will be randomly notified throughout the day as listings matching their search criteria come on the market.

So the other day I check with them and ask them if they have seen any homes that they would like to see inside. Her response was all of the homes that we like are sale pending. How could that be I asked my site only sends you active listings which you will get within the first 30 minutes to one hour after the agent has entered into the MLS.

Her response was that she was searching on Zillow. So once again had to explain that sites like Zillow only are updated once a day and often have out of date information. My site is accurate and has the most up to date information that the consumer could hope to get. She prommissed to begin using the site. Sometimes it is just hard to tell the truth.

K

Leave a comment