The Thrill of Victory and the Agony of Defeat!

A major portion of my prospecting campaign is centered around a mail out campaign. Recently I have been mailing out to Owners of Multi-family properties. The campaign has been going well.

Don ( I will call him Don ) responded to one of my letters via email. AFTER trading emails over the next two weeks I ascertained that Don owned a 9 unit apartment building built in the 70’s and that he wanted to sell as long as the offer was at least $700, 000. Don had also said that he had full authority to sell and we agreed upon a commission amount that he would pay and that he wanted to represent himself in the transaction.

Over the next 10 days I identified the right buyer and prepared an offer including lender letter of approval.

I called Don and set the appointment to meet him at his home at 10 am the next morning.

Presentation day and I am all set with extra copies of the offer and was greeted at the door by Don and ushered into the home and after a few formalities began the presentation. About half way through the presentation I noticed some movement just outside through the sliding glass doors in the back yard and flower garden. A lady appears and enters the home. The lady has a bewildered face on as Don introduces his wife to me. After a brief and cordial introduction and a very short disagreement which I did not quite understand (so many things between husband’s and wives are non-verbal) Dons wife retires to the family room.

The offer I have written is for $775, 000 a fair price for the property and well in excess of what Don had mentioned as his bottom line. Don thanked me for the fine offer and that he wanted to take some time to read through all of the fine print and that he would get back to me the next morning.

I thanked Don and his wife for their hospitality and said that I would await his call. ( The Thrill of Victory)

The next day in mid-morning Don calls. The call is short and to the point. Don thanks me for my fine offer but after speaking with his wife they have decided that they do not need to sell and instead have decided that they will keep the property. ( The Agony of Defeat )

Herb Hamilton is alicensed Real Estate Broker in Oregon with RE/MAX Preferred Inc. Realtors

Herb’s cell 503-515-8889

Leave a comment